Home: About > University Program

University Program

Join Our University Programs and Gain Access to Our Technology

Access Cadence Software, VIP, and Interface, Memory, Analog, and Systems/Peripherals IP

The goal of the Cadence® University Software programs is to grant easy access to leading electronic design automation (EDA) tools for educational institutions around the world. Our customers rely on skilled engineers entering the workforce. As the EDA leader, we are committed to helping our customers by giving future engineers access to our world-class tools. In fact, we reach over 30,000 students each year through these programs. By making our products readily available for instruction and academic research, Cadence is helping the electronics industry speed ideas to reality. 

Find out more about this program on the main Cadence web site.

Get Access to Tensilica Automated Processor Design Tools

Join the qualified universities who have already incorporated Cadence Tensilica® tools into their classrooms and academic research projects. The University Program provides leading educational institutions with easy access to Cadence's leading Tensilica processor configuration and extension tools.

Participating schools must agree to use the software for teaching and academic research purposes only. All applicants to the program must be from accredited, degree-granting academic institutions. Tensilica tools run on Windows-equipped personal computers.

Ordering Instructions for Tensilica University Program

Here’s how your university or college can join the Tensilica University Program or renew your existing license (12 months).

New Applications

Please click here to apply for a new agreement.

Application Renewals/Extensions

Please click here to apply for an extension to an existing agreement.


University members are encouraged to join the Tensilica users group on Yahoo. Go to Yahoo Groups and search for "tensilicausers" and sign up now.

Participating Universities in the Tensilica University Program

All of these universities have used or are using the Tensilica University License Program for research and education.


  • Queensland University of Technology
  • University of Adelaide
  • The University of New South Wales


  • CMC Canadian Microsystems
  • Ecole Polytechnique

  • Queens University of Canada
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Calgary
  • University of Guelph
  • University of New Brunswick
  • University of Ottawa
  • University of Patras
  • University of Quebec
  • University of Toronto


  • Beihang University
  • Capital Normal University
  • Central South ASIC Design Center
  • Chinese Academy of Science
  • Fudan University
  • Harbin IoT Schenzen
  • Hefei University
  • ICT/Institute of Computing Technology
  • IME/Instituition of Microeletronics
    Institution of Micrelectronics, CAS
    Chinese Academy of Science
  • Northwestern Polytechnical University
  • Peking University
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University - School of Microelectronics
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University - VLSI
  • Shenzhen University
  • South China University of Technology
  • Southeast University, Sipailou Nanjing
  • Tianjin University
  • Tsinghua University EDA Lab
  • Tsinghua University Electronic Engineering
  • Tsinghua University Microprocessor & SoC
  • University of Beijing, Academy of Sciences
  • Xidian University
  • Zhejaing University


  • Aachen University
  • Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  • Cypress University of Tech
  • Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications de Bretagne
    ENSSAT University of France
  • ENST Bretagne
  • Heinz Nixdorf Institute University of Paderborn
  • Imperial College
  • Institute for Comms Tech and Embedded Systems
  • KTH/Royal Institute of Technology
    Microelectronics and Information Technology – Dept. of Computer & Systems Science
  • Microelectronics Design Center ETH Zurich
  • KTH/Royal Institute of Technology
    Microelectronics and Information Technology – Dept. of ECS Electronic, Computer, & Software Systems
  • Linkoping University
  • Politecnico di Milano
  • Politecnico di Torino
  • Queens University Belfast
  • Ruhr - University of Bochum
  • RWTH Aachen University
  • Sabanci University
  • Sweden Royal Institute of TEchnology
  • Technical University of Darmstadt
    Technical University of Denmakr
  • Technische Universitat Dresden
  • Tampere University of Technology
  • Tech University of France
  • Technical University of Dortmund
  • Technische Universitat Braunschwieg
  • TIMA
  • Ulm University
  • University of Bielefeld
  • University of Cagliari
    University of Kaiserslautern
  • University of Las Palmas Gran Canaria
    Comuter Engineering
  • University of Nice
  • Univeristy of Nis
  • University of Paris SUD
  • University of Paderborn, Heinz Institute
  • University of Patras
  • University of Rennes
  • University of Thessaly
    University of Valenciennes


  • A. D. Patel Institute of Technology
    Anna University College of Engineering
  • Banaras Hindu University
  • Dhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information
  • Eng and Technology, Nagpur
  • IIT Delhi
  • ISquare IT, Pune
  • Indian Institute of Science Bangalore
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
    International Institute of Information Technology
    Jaypee Institute of Information Technology
  • PSG College of Technology
  • RKNEC, Nagpur Maharashtra
  • RMD Engineering College
  • SVSS College of Engineering & Research
  • University of Pune
  • VEDA IIT PVT. Ltd.
  • Vishwararma Institute of Technology
  • VIT University
    Vishwakarma Institute of Technology


  • Kyoto University
  • Kyushu University
  • Osaka University
  • University of Electro-Communications
    Dept. of Computer Science


  • Chosun University
  • Hanyang University
  • KAIST – Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
  • Korea University
  • Kwangwoon University
  • Pohang University of Science and Technology - POSTECH
  • Seoul National University Design Automation
  • Seoul National University CoSoC
    Sungkyunkwan University
  • University of INCHEON



Middle East/Africa

  • Assiut University
  • Faculte des Sciences de Monastir
  • Jordan University of Science
  • Sabanci University

New Zealand

  • Auckland University


  • Quaid-I-Azam University


  • Saint Petersburg State Polytechnic University


  • National University of Singapore
  • Nanyang Technological University

South America

  • University Catolica of Colombia

Sri Lanka

  • University of Moratuwa
  • University of Peradeniya


  • Chang Gung University
  • National Chung Cheng University
  • National Taipei University


Faculty of Medicine of Manastir


  • Arizona State University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • FW Olin College of Engineering
  • Penn State University
  • Northwestern University
  • Princeton University
    Rice University
  • Rutgers University
  • SMU - Southern Methodist University
  • Stanford University EE
  • State University of New York (SUNY)
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • University of Arizona
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of California, Irvine
    University of California, Los Angeles
  • University of California, Riverside
  • University of California, San Diego
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Connecticut
    University of Florida
  • University of Hawaii
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Louisiana at Monroe
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of San Diego
  • University of Washington at St. Louis
  • University of Wisconsin
  • Washington State University
  • Virginia Tech